Girl x Girl Chapter 6

6. Ice Cream

Hello everyone! How are you feeling today ? Hope you guys feel well ლ(╹◡╹ლ)
If you have any suggestion or feedback about my translation feel free to tell me on comments!
If you have any novel/series request post your comment HERE
Enjoy!
Author : Sasayaka Shī (ささやか椎)
TL/Edit : Green Cake

“I guess this is the last one.”

Their cheeks were tinged with the reddish color of the setting sun.

“Yes, that’s right. Shall we go back to the dormitory now?”

The work that Yumina helped with was not that complicated. The Sunkist Girls’ Academy holds its sports festival in June. I don’t know why they choose to hold it during the rainy season, but some students look forward to it because it’s a good opportunity to deepen friendships with the new class members. However, the scoreboard that was used every year for the festival was disposed of this spring due to a mistake made by one of the PE teachers. They had no choice but to make a new one, but first, they had to order the fittings to install the scoreboard on the rooftop fence, so they had to find out the size of the fence. They had to measure the length, width, and height of each part of the fence, referring to the difficult-to-see diagram by Rika Kayama, the PE teacher. Yumina was impressed by the fact that the bulletin board also did this kind of work, and worked diligently.

“Hey, Shino-chan.”

Two long shadows lined up in the wide, sunset-lit corridor.

“I’m not sure how to be as cool as Shino-chan.”

“Yes, that’s right. It’s essential to avoid hysterical and sensational things regularly.”

For Yumina, Shino is like a teacher.

“You should also eat a lot of cold food every day.”

“Oh, like ice cream?”

“Yes. By using ice cream as your staple food, you can keep your brain at a low temperature and make calm decisions in response to stimuli from the outside world.”

“Wow.”

Shino immediately regretted it. It was still cold in the mornings and evenings, but she had gotten carried away and said something lax.

“It’s hard to be a cool girl, isn’t it!”

“It’s not a big deal.”

“No, no, no! It’s amazing, Shino-chan.”

The fact that Yumina is strangely childish is a sign that she is opening her heart to Shino. I’m sure you’ll be able to understand why.

As they approached the entrance to the dormitory, Yumina asked, “Can I stop by for a minute?”. Yumina pointed to a convenience store inside the entrance. The Sunkist Girls’ Academy has four Focaccia Dolce convenience stores in the school, but Yumina has only seen the first-year dormitory store. Yumina and Shino entered the store and headed for the ice-cream corner.

Yumina said and put three 30 yen ice creams in her basket. It’s a healthy sorbet made with organic vegetables and no chemical seasonings, and it’s been featured in magazines along with Aurora Parfait in the second year dormitory and Lily Marshmallow in the third year dormitory.

“Shino-chan. Have you eaten anything cold yet today?”

Shino jumped and looked up.

“I’m going to get some too.”

As expected of Yumina’s teacher. Shino put five ice creams in the basket with her unaccustomed hands and lined up at the cash register.

She had been told by Shino that they were in the same class, but Yumina was overjoyed because she had no idea that they had dorm rooms next to each other. When Yumina saw that the hallway was empty, she took Shino’s hand and said, “I’m glad to be next to you, Shino-chan. It’s nice to meet you.” she repeated. Shino was so nervous that she could barely look away and nod silently.

When Yumina returned to her room and opened the freezer to cool down the ice cream, she found two pumpkin-flavored ice creams for 30 yen already inside. She had forgotten that Kayama-sensei had given them to her.

The day before yesterday, during her lunch break, Yumina was on her way to the library to read a book and escape from reality, playing with peach-colored yarn, when Ms. Kayama came up in front of her carrying a violin case. I don’t know why she was carrying such a thing for a physical education teacher, but when Yumina greeted her in a reserved manner, she approached her in a good mood.

“Kuraki-san. I’m sorry about the other day.”

“What?”

“I embarrassed you in front of everyone, didn’t I? It was about your pants.”

“Oh, no, no. It’s okay. I don’t mind at all.”

It’s not that I don’t care about it, but if the teacher apologizes, then Yumina can’t say anything.

Kayama-sensei put his hands in his pockets, searched his bag, touched his chest, and then said, “Oh, here it is”, and opened his violin case.

“It’s almost Halloween, you know. Look, it’s pumpkin flavored.”

Out of the case came a 30 yen ice cream. Of course, it was melted into mush.

“I thought Halloween was in October”, she said.

“Don’t be shy. Yes, I’ll give you two.”

Maybe the teacher was concerned about what had happened the other day in her way. So Yumina went along with Kayama-sensei’s forceful atonement and got two ice creams in advance.

“Yes.”

Yumina took the pumpkin ice cream and went to visit her neighbor, Shino, again. I’m pretty sure the pumpkin flavor wasn’t in the ice cream that Shino bought, so I thought I’d share it with her. It seems that Shino eats ice cream instead of rice and bread, so she can never have too many of them. I knocked on the door and Shino came out with an orange ice cream in her mouth. Looking at her like this, I felt that Shino would look cute with her bangs. Yumina thought she would suggest it when she got her hair cut.

“I have some of this leftover. You can have it.”

Shino rolled her eyes when she saw what Yumina was offering.

“Oh, thank you. No, it’s just that five was not enough.”

It’s a good thing that I’m not the only one who has a problem with this, but Shino can’t tell Yumina the truth.

“I’m glad you’re happy, Shino-chan. Well, good night.”

After returning to her room and taking a relaxing shower, Yumina began to eat the ice cream she had been looking forward to. Yumina was a picky eater, so she decided to try both carrot and eggplant flavors at the same time. As she was thinking about the body towel she had received as a commemorative gift for entering the dormitory, which produced a very fine lather and made her skin feel smoother than usual, she wondered if that towel was sold at Focca… Then, to her surprise, the word “winner” appeared on the inside of the ice cream container. And if you look closely, you can see that both of them were a hit. Yumina ran to the convenience store just before 9:00 p.m., when she was not allowed to leave her room and got two bottles of cabbage flavored ice cream from a second-year student who worked there part-time. I can only assume that Yumina has forgotten that she has an injured leg as she dashes down the stairs, even though there is a soft carpet on the floor.

“Shino-chan.”

I called out from the door and Shino, wearing a purple hoodie, slowly appeared with her hood up. I’m not sure why her lips are also a little purple.

“Shino-chan. I got two of these, so I’ll give you one.”

Shino looked frightened for a moment when she saw what Yumina was offering, but she quickly returned to her strong and cool face and accepted the ice cream.

“I’m sorry. No, six was not enough for me.”

“Shino-chan is so cool!”

“It’s the same as always. I’m always doing this.”

“I’ll do my best to be like you, Shino-chan! Please let me learn a lot from you!”

“It takes a lot of training to be as cool as me.”

“I’ll do my best!”

“I’m looking forward to it.”

“Yeah! I’ll see you tomorrow. Good night.”

“Oh, good night.”

The moment I closed the door, I thought I heard Shino sneezing from inside, but it must have been Yumina’s imagination.

Previous | Table of Contents | Next

2 thoughts on “Girl x Girl Chapter 6

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started